OSAP Announces 2023 - 2024 Association Board of Directors PDF Print Email
Monday, July 03, 2023 10:39 AM

For additional information, contact:
Ashley Quackenbush, MPH, CHES
Senior Director, Education and Marketing
(404) 789-3155
[email protected]

July 3, 2023 (ATLANTA) — The Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention (OSAP) has announced the members of the 2023 - 2024 OSAP Association Board of Directors.

“We are excited to have Dr. Steven Geiermann as our new Association Board Chair for 2023 - 2024. A longtime supporter of OSAP, with a wealth of association strategy and public health knowledge, Dr. Geiermann will help position OSAP’s reach and influence in the years ahead," states Michelle Lee, Executive Director.

Steven Geiermann, DDS, FACD, FICD, a retired Captain in the U.S. Public Health Service, recently retired after 15 years as the Senior Manager addressing access, community oral health infrastructure and capacity within the American Dental Association’s Council on Advocacy for Access and Prevention. He served in the Indian Health Service and Federally Qualified Health Centers as well as being a HRSA regional dental consultant and project officer within the National Health Service Corps and the HIV/AIDS Bureau. He currently serves on the boards of the American Institute of Dental Public Health (AIDPH), the Dental Patient Safety Foundation, and the Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention (OSAP), as well as the Oral Health Progress and Equity Network (OPEN). He is the chair of the Best Practices Committee within the Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. Steve is a fellow of the American College of Dentists, the International College of Dentists and the Council for Excellence in Government.

Ramneek Rai, DDS, was elected as Vice-Chair. Dr. Rai is the Director of Health and Safety and Health Sciences Assistant Clinical Professor in the Department of Preventive and Restorative Dental Sciences at UCSF School of Dentistry. She is an alumna of UCSF School of Dentistry where she earned her DDS Degree in 2009. Dr. Rai has been active in private practice and academia after finishing her Advanced Education in General Dentistry at UT Dental Branch, Houston, in 2010. It’s her passion to continue advancing health and safety practices and improving standard of care in terms of infection prevention and control in dental health care settings.

Dr. Rai has served as the Director of Health and Safety at UCSF School of Dentistry since 2018 where she has successfully led the school through the last Commission On Dental Accreditation (CODA) site visit and ensured safe operations at UCSF Dental Center through the COVID-19 pandemic. She has been instrumental in the implementation of various evidence-based measures safeguarding the frontline dental workers and patients during the pandemic. In her day-to-day role, she manages a successful Infection Prevention Program at the 17 dental clinics that fall under UCSF Dental Center, many of which student learners receive their clinical education.

Julie Lynch, MS, BSN, RN, will serve as Treasurer. Ms. Lynch is a Registered Nurse and the Director of the Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Healthcare (AAAHC) Institute for Quality Improvement. Her role is to develop the AAAHC quality improvement research strategy, analyze and report accreditation performance results against national clinical practice guidelines and evidence-based health care literature, and provide easily implementable and practitioner-focused tools that increase patient and employee safety to facilitate organizational compliance with AAAHC Standards.

After spending the first 22 years of her career in acute care nursing and leadership roles, Julie found a passion for oral health care. For several years, she served as the Director of Clinical Development for a national group of oral health partnerships supporting quality management and improvement endeavors through accreditation, professional development, provider credentialing verification and regulatory compliance. Julie received her Bachelor of Science in Nursing from Concordia University Wisconsin and her Master of Science in Healthcare Administration from the University of St. Francis in Joliet, Illinois.

Michael Williamson, JD, CHC, CCEP, was elected as Secretary. Michael Williamson is the Chief Compliance Officer/Chief Privacy Officer for Pacific Dental Services LLP. He has been a compliance and ethics professional specializing in health care compliance for over 20 years. He is passionate about leveraging organizational values and culture to optimize risk mitigation. Michael is admitted to the Massachusetts Bar, the United States District Court for the District of Massachusetts, and the New York Bar. He founded a law practice that specialized in all aspects of healthcare compliance, served as Assistant General Counsel in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Executive Office of Health & Human Services, and has held Chief Compliance Officer, V.P. of Risk Management and Chief Privacy Officer positions in the private sector where he has successfully designed and implemented ethics and compliance programs rooted in the principles of values-based, self-governance.

Our newly elected board member is Joyce A. Moore, RDH, BSDH, CRCST, CDIPC, DISIPC.

Ms. Moore is a consultant and speaker focused on infection prevention and healthcare compliance. She began her career as a Registered Dental Hygienist before becoming an adjunct Dental Hygiene faculty member at Bristol Community College. She’s authored journal articles, collaborated with the CDC on their Foundations: Building the Safety Dental Visit program and with 3M and the Midmark Corporation as an educational consultant. Currently, she serves as a member on AAMI and ADA Standards working groups.

Joyce is a Certified Registered Central Service Technician, holding a certification through the Healthcare Sterile Processing Association (HSPA). She was the 2019 recipient of the OSAP Emerging Infection Control Leader award and has earned the OSAP-DALE Foundation Dental Infection Prevention and Control Certificate, the Certified in Dental Infection Prevention and Control (CDIPC) certification, and the Dental Industry Specialist in Infection Prevention and Control (DISIPC) certification.

Other Association Directors include Immediate Past Chair David Kierce; Matthew R. Ellis, MPH, CIC, CDIPC, REHS/RS; Kimberly Grensavitch, MJ, BA, RDH; Aaron Pfarrer; Marguerite Walsh; Raleigh Wright, DDS; and Steve Wright, MBA.

About OSAP
The Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention (OSAP) is the only dental membership association solely focused on infection prevention and patient safety education. Our members include individual clinicians, group practices, educators, researchers, consultants, trainers, compliance directors, policymakers, and industry representatives who advocate for safe and infection-free delivery of oral healthcare. OSAP focuses on strategies to improve compliance with safe practices and on building a strong network of recognized infection control experts. OSAP offers an extensive online collection of resources, publications, FAQs, checklists, and toolkits that help dental professionals deliver the Safest Dental Visit™ possible for their patients. Plus, online and live courses help advance the level of knowledge and skill for every member of the dental team. For additional information, visit www.osap.org.